CEA gives the following awards each year:

Fred Standley CEA Lifetime Achievement Award

This award, considered CEA's premier honor,  recognizes extraordinary and sustained service to the Association and the profession. Awarded when merited, the recipient is determined by the Awards Committee.

Joe D. Thomas CEA Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes service to CEA through contributions to the organization over a period of time (through committee work, service as an elected officer, and other projects). Please submit a brief rationale in support of a worthy CEA colleague to the attention of the Immediate Past President by January 31.

CEA Professional Achievement Award

This award recognizes a CEA member who has significantly contributed to teaching and scholarship at the college or university level. Self-nominations are welcomed and encouraged.  Please submit a brief rationale and curriculum vitae to the attention of the Immediate Past President by January 31.

Robert Hacke CEA Scholar-Teacher Award

The Robert Hacke Scholar-Teacher Award provides $550 to help support a CEA junior member who is involved in a scholarly or pedagogical project related to English studies. Those persons who are adjuncts or who hold the rank of instructor or assistant professor in a post-secondary institution, including community colleges, are eligible to submit project proposals.

Applications must include the following materials: a detailed rationale (maximum of five pages) for the project, including title, purpose and goal, methodology, proposed results, and work schedule; curriculum vitae; and one letter of recommendation. The $550 award is available to the winner by May 1.  By March 15 of the following year, the recipient will submit a brief report of the progress of his or her project to the Executive Director, who will present it to the Board of Directors. Applications should be sent to the attention of the Immediate Past President by February 15.

Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award

The College English Association invites graduate students who will be presenting papers at the annual conference to submit their work for consideration for this award.  To be considered, you must be currently enrolled in a graduate program.  Please email your completed coreference paper to the Immediate Past President by February 15.  Article-length essays, drafts, or abstracts cannot be accepted; instead, you must send your completed, presentation-ready paper of 8-10 pages of text (double-spaced, 12-point font, Times New Roman). When you send your paper, please also indicate the program in which you are currently a student.  Papers will be read in advance of the conference by members of the CEA Board; these readers will then evaluate the finalists’ presentations at the conference. Thus, the paper as well as the presentation itself are both determining factors in the awarding of this $250 prize.

Robert A. Miller CEA Memorial Prize for the year's best article in The CEA Critic

Honors the best essay and writer of that essay to appear in a CEA publication during the preceding year. (Determined by the CEA Publications Editors.)

The Karen Lentz Madison Award for Scholarship

The Karen Lentz Madison Award for Scholarship is an annual award of $250 for a presentation at our annual conference by an adjunct or contingent faculty member who contributes significantly to the corpus studiorum in English. The prize is funded by an endowment from James R. (Dick) Bennett and serves to recognize College English Association's immeasurable gratitude to adjunct and contingent faculty in literature and composition studies and to honor their unconquerable esprit de corps and professional dedication.

After you are notified of your abstract’s acceptance for conference presentation, you may send your project documentation or conference paper to kmadison@uark.edu by MARCH 15 for consideration for the award. Papers or projects must conform to CEA conference submission deadlines.

The James R. (Dick) Bennett CEA Award for Literature and Peace

The College English Association awards $250 annually to the winner of The James R. (Dick) Bennett Award for Literature and Peace. This prize is awarded for a paper or project that contributes significantly, through action or understanding, to the prospect of living in harmony with the Earth and humankind. Please send your completed conference paper or project documentation to the Immediate Past President by February 15 for consideration for the award. Article-length essays, drafts, or abstracts cannot be accepted.